Save the Date(s) – January 2008

The DEN in SL LC would like to wish you all a happy, healthy and prosperous 2008!

We’re starting off the year with a number of workshops and gatherings.  I know that we’re all on our New Year’s Resolution kick (at least for the next week or so! LOL) and I KNOW that one of your resolutions is to become more involved in the activities hosted by the DEN in SL.  We’ve got some new things planned – Book Talks the 4th Wednesday of the month (check off another one of your New Year’s Resolutions – ‘Contribute to your Personal/Professional Learning Network’); our FIRST (and surely NOT last) WebEx Webinar; and Joe Brennan is making an appearance on January 30th!

Here’s what we have planned for January:

January 9th – 5 p.m. SLT (8 p.m. EST)

WORKSHOP: Presenting in SL

PRESENTER: Beth Kohnke, JuliaAnn Mills

DESCRIPTION: We are members of a global network of educators and it is time we begin to share our expertise and experiences with others. In this learning experience we will look at the basics of how to present in SL and some of the options and tools to aid in presenting. We will also discuss how to find a venue to host a presentation and ways to advertise.

NOTE:  This workshop will BEGIN IN SANDBOX, then move to upstairs to Media Player

~~~~~

January 15th – 4 p.m. SLT (7 p.m. EST)  NOTE THE DIFFERENT START TIME FOR THIS EVENT

A DEN in SL WebEx Webinar

~~~~~

January 16th – 5 p.m. SLT (8 p.m. EST)

WORKSHOP: Gimme a Topic

PRESENTER: Celestia Cazalet

DESCRIPTION: Celestia Cazalet will facilitate this session where all DENizens and SL education professionals are invited to add their input as to the topics and types of workshops and forums YOU’D like to see in 2008! Upcoming exciting events will also be discussed. You won’t want to miss this opportunity to have your voice heard!

~~~~~

January 23rd – 5 p.m. SLT (8 p.m. EST)

Book Talk – ‘The Kids Are Alright: How the Gamer Generation is Changing the Workplace’ by John C. Beck and Mitchell Wade

Get directly from amazon.com

~~~~~ 

January 30th – 5 p.m. SLT (8 p.m. EST)

WORKSHOP:  Makin’ Movies: Simple F/X

PRESENTER:  Joe Brennan

DESCRIPTION: See how you and your students can employ some easy tricks to get a few of the special effects we’ve come to take for granted on TV and in movies.

Leave a Comment

For your photo to appear next to your name, be sure you have a Gravatar.com account created matching your email address.