Mark Your Calendars – June Events

Can you believe it?!?!  Tomorrow is June 1st!  I know that some of us are already on summer ‘time’ (don’t like to call it ‘vacation’ since most of us ‘work’ during the summer! LOL), others are about to, and yet others (like myself) have a WHOLE month to go before we reach that time!

In any event, whether you’re already on summer ‘time’ or winding down, I hope you’ll consider joining us for these upcoming Wednesday Workshops. 

DATE:  June 4, 2008

WORKSHOP: Discovery Education Assignment Builder

PRESENTER: Cal Kjeller

DESCRIPTION: Discovery Education Streaming is much more than excellent streaming videos! This presentation will take you step by step through using the Assignment Builder to create activities for your students to use both in and out of the classroom. Tips and tricks for customizing your assignments will be included.

SLT TIME: 5 p.m. SLT (7 p.m. CDT, 8 p.m. EST)

*****

DATE:  June 11, 2008

WORKSHOP:  iStream, uStream, Live Streaming In Second Life ™

PRESENTER: Demb OH

DESCRIPTION:  One of the biggest trends in Web2.0 is live video streaming.  From uStream to Operator 11 to Seesmic to Qik, it is becoming easier and easier to broadcast yourself live to the masses.  So what about Second Life?  How can Live Video streaming be incorporated into SL and what can it be used for?  First learn practical ways to bring live video in-world and then let’s see just how far along the cutting edge we can surf!

SLT TIME: 5 p.m. SLT ( 7 p.m. CDT, 8 p.m. EST)

*****

DATE:  June 18, 2008

WORKSHOP:  Your Camera: It isn’t Just for Taking Pictures Anymore!

PRESENTER: Celestia Cazalet

DESCRIPTION: Did you know you can visit places in SL without even leaving the DEN? You’ll learn how and so much more as you discover the hidden secrets of camera controls.

SLT TIME: 5 p.m. SLT ( 7 p.m. CDT, 8 p.m. EST)

*****

DATE:  June 25, 2008

WORKSHOP:  NECC Pre-game show

PRESENTER:  Cami Goyut (Camilla Gagliolo, RL, ISTE Board of Directors, Executive Committee At-large Member & Special Interest Group Representative)

DESCRIPTION: We’re getting ready for NECC, ideas to help plan, how to use NECC as a tool for your PLN. Informal discussion for those that may have questions as they prepare to head to NECC.

SLT TIME: 4 p.m. SLT (6 p.m.  CDT, 7 p.m. EST)

*****

And just a ‘heads up’, there will be NO Wednesday Workshop on July 2, 2008 since many of us will be at NECC in San Antonio.

Comments

  1. Celestia Cazalet

    Even though we won’t be having a Wednesday workshop during NECC, please feel free to gather at the DEN HQ and have a great time networking with your peers! The DEN HQ is YOUR place – enjoy!

Leave a Comment

For your photo to appear next to your name, be sure you have a Gravatar.com account created matching your email address.