Mark Your Calendar – July Events

I CANNOT believe that I’m already posting about July events!  How is this possible?  I’m not even done with school yet!  As soon as I typed in the title of the post I felt a sense of panic that summer was almost over and I haven’t even started what is known as ‘teacher vacation’ (attending conferences, planning for next year, participating in workshops in the district, etc.).  In any event, we’ve got a great line-up for July and we hope that whereever you are you’ll be able to join us.

DATE:  July 2, 2008 

This will be an informal gathering since the entire Leadership Council will be at NECC (wOOt!) and presenting (for the first — an hopefully not – last time as a team in real life!) on Monday at 8:30 a.m.

TIME:  5:00 p.m. SLT (7 p.m. CST, 8 p.m. EST)

*****

DATE:  July 9, 2008

WORKSHOP:  Creating Your Class Website with WebBlender

PRESENTER:  Faythe Fouroux

DESCRIPTION:  Creating and maintaining a class website doesn’t have to be hard and scary!  WebBlender makes it easy and fun.  Come learn what WebBlender can do for you. WebBlender is a Tech4Learning product and you can learn more about it at here.

SLT TIME: 5:00 p.m. SLT ( 7 p.m. CDT, 8 p.m. EST)

*****

DATE:  July 16, 2008

WORKSHOP:  Newbie 101

PRESENTER:  JessieMarie Flanagan 

DESCRIPTION:  New to Second Life?  Come join us as JessieMarie takes you on a tour of the functions of the various menus and toolbars, you’ll also have the opportunity to ask questions, and who knows? a shopping trip just might round out the evening! 

SLT TIME: 6 p.m. SLT (8 p.m. CDT, 9 p.m. EST) NOTE:  THIS IS AN HOUR LATER THAN USUAL!!!

*****
DATE:  July 23, 2008

WORKSHOP:  Making Your Second Life ™ Easier

PRESENTER:  Celestia Cazalet

DESCRIPTION:  Celestia will introduce you to free programs and websites that can enhance your Second Life(tm) experience. Come prepared to share your own discoveries, as well.

SLT TIME:  5:00 p.m. SLT ( 7 p.m. CDT, 8 p.m. EST)

*****

DATE:  July 30, 2008

WORKSHOP:  Streaming with SMARTboards: Opening a Window to the Digital World

PRESENTER: Lyndsay Rhiano

DESCRIPTION:  Do you currently have a SMARTboard in your classroom or district?  Did you know that Discovery Streaming can be seamlessly integrated with your SMARTboard?  During this workshop you will learn about ways to integrate Discovery Streaming, various funding strategies, be provided with resources for implementation, and information on programs that SMART Technologies provides SMART educators.

SLT TIME:  5:00 p.m. SLT ( 7 p.m. CDT, 8 p.m. EST)

TEASER……Start shopping now!  The 1st Anniversary Gala for DEN in SL will be happening in August!

Comments

  1. JoeD Ducatillon

    Is the Monday, July 2, informal 8:30 AM gathering in SL time? Since I won’t be in San Antonio, I am hoping to attend as much as possible in SL.

  2. Nancy Sharoff

    JoeD,
    Thanks for pointing that out! I’ve gone in and put the times in. Yes, it will be at the usual 5 p.m. SLT time.

  3. Lori Abrahams

    JoeD – FYI – July 2nd is for our Wed Workshops, so it’s a Wednesday evening not a Monday. Our session at NECC is Monday June 30 at 8:30 AM CDT but I don’t think we will be in SL then. We are hoping to be in SL for a DEN meet and greet on Tuesday, July 1st at the SL playground around 3 PM CDT. The SL playground will be open most afternoons. So there will be avatars in SL on ISTE islands throughout NECC.

Leave a Comment

For your photo to appear next to your name, be sure you have a Gravatar.com account created matching your email address.