Education Support Faire Opens This Weekend

Below you will find snippes from the post on the SL blog about the Education Support Faire:

“The goal of the Faire is to bring together educators, academics, and students to explore the support mechanisms available to Residents who use Second Life to enhance real world educational efforts.

The Faire opens this Sunday, January 25th at the region Supporte, and will last through Friday, January 30th. A full list of individuals and groups with displays and/or presentations at the Education Support Faire can be found here.

In addition to booths and presentations that will highlight the support services offered by Linden Lab to educators, there will be the opportunity to learn more about 46 Resident-run Support Organizations that help educators succeed in Second Life . Explore the ecosystem of support opportunities with people from organizations like the New Media Consortium, ISTE, Languagelab, and the Discovery Education Network. Learn the best way to teach your students how to use Second Life from organizations like New Citizens Incorporated, Info Island, and Global Kids. Find out how people dealing with disabilities can access Second Life for educational purposes from Virtual Ability Inc. and the SLHealthy Wiki. And be sure to stop by between 9am-1pm SLT on Monday, January 26 to speak with Lindens who can help you learn more about what Linden Lab offers to educators in terms of support and strategies for success!”

As you can see, Discovery Education Network has a booth on the Faire sim (Faire 41/125/35), so please consider stopping by and visiting!

The DEN will also be doing two presentations during the Education Support Faire.  The first, is on Sunday, January 25th at 10 a.m. SLT (12 p.m. CST, 1 p.m. EST) on ‘Discovery Your SL Network’.  The second presentation will be on Tuesday, January 27th at 4 p.m. SLT (6 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. EST) on ‘Presenting Best Practices in SL’.

Leave a Comment

For your photo to appear next to your name, be sure you have a Gravatar.com account created matching your email address.