Finding Your Way With the DEN

geocachingOn May 30, 2009 we will host our first-ever DEN Geocaching Day!  Every STAR Discovery Educator is encouraged to venture out with some colleagues on May 30 and have some fun geocaching.  Do you want to join us?

For muggles (non-geocachers) and pros alike, STAR Discovery Educators Bridget Belardi and Conni Mulligan will host a “Geocaching 101? webinar to get us ready.  The webinar will answer the basic questions of “What is geoaching?” and “How do I get started?”  as well as emphaszie the curricular connections of geocaching.

The webinar will be offered three times:

Register for one of the sessions today.

So now that you have a resource to get you started, what exactly will the day look like?  Well, we have a group of DEN Guides (experienced geocachers) who have agreed to host events in their areas.  If you would like to be a DEN Guide and organize an event in your area,  please contact Lance Rougeux (lance_rougeux@discovery.com).

You can join one of the DEN Guides or if there isn’t an event in your area, we encourage you to form a group (and let us know) and give geocaching a try for the day.

For groups that register with me (i.e., those that have a DEN guide to lead them), we will help you out with lunch, send a special DEN travel bug your way and provide you with some prizes for the day.

Here are the current sites with DEN Guides.  If you’d like to attend one of these events send an email to the DEN Guide listed.

Evergreen, CO
DEN Guide: Angie Wulff
awulff@jeffco.k12.co.us

Lake Wales, FL
DEN Guide: Cathy Hammel
cathy.hammel@polk-fl.net

Cedar Rapids, IA
DEN Guide: Jane Suiter
JSuiter@cr.k12.ia.us

Wichita, KS
DEN Guide: Jim Clark
JClark@usd259.net

Lafayette, LA
DEN Guide: Louise Prejean
lprejean@louisiana.edu

Connellsville, PA
DEN Guide: Linda Michael
sandymae13@verizon.net

Pittsburgh, PA
DEN Guide: Bridget Belardi
bridgetbelardi@gmail.com

Columbia, SC
DEN Guide: Donna Teuber
dteuber@sc.rr.com

No matter if you are going with a group or venturing out on your own, add your name to the list of DEN Geocachers.  You might see someone in your area with whom you can connect.  And if you do form a group, be sure to let Lance know (lance_rougeux@discovery.com).

Click here to add your name to the list of DEN Geocachers!

Leave a Comment

For your photo to appear next to your name, be sure you have a Gravatar.com account created matching your email address.