Join us May 30 for DEN Geocaching Day!

On May 30, 2009 we will host our first-ever DEN Geocaching Day!  Every STAR Discovery Educator is encouraged to venture out with some colleagues on May 30 and have some fun geocaching.  Do you want to join us?

For muggles (non-geocachers) and pros alike, STAR Discovery Educators Bridget Belardi and Conni Mulligan will host a “Geocaching 101″ webinar to get us ready.  The webinar will answer the basic questions of “What is geoaching?” and “How do I get started?”  as well as emphasize the curricular connections of geocaching.

The webinar will be offered three times:

Register for one of the sessions today.

So now that you have a resource to get you started, what exactly will the day look like?  Well, we have a group of DEN Guides (experienced geocachers) who have agreed to host events in their areas.  If you would like to be a DEN Guide and organize an event in your area,  please let me know (lance_rougeux@discovery.com).

You can join one of the DEN Guides or if there isn’t an event in your area, we encourage you to form a group (and let us know) and give geocaching a try for the day.

For groups that register with me (i.e., those that have a DEN guide to lead them), we will help you out with lunch, send a special DEN travel bug your way and provide you with some prizes for the day.

Here are the current sites with DEN Guides.  If you’d like to attend one of these events send an email to the DEN Guide listed.

Ooraminna Bush Camp in the Australian Outback
DEN Guide: Jennifer Jensen
Sorry, registration for this one is closed :)

Evergreen, CO
DEN Guide: Angie Wulff
awulff@jeffco.k12.co.us

Lake Wales, FL
DEN Guide: Cathy Hammel
cathy.hammel@polk-fl.net

Palm Beach, FL
DEN Guide: Dawn DeWitt
dewittdawn@palmbeach.k12.fl.us

Cedar Rapids, IA
DEN Guide: Jane Suiter
JSuiter@cr.k12.ia.us

Skokie, IL
DEN Guide: Steve Dembo
Steve_Dembo@Discovery.com

Wichita, KS
DEN Guide: Jim Clark
JClark@usd259.net

Lafayette, LA
DEN Guide: Louise Prejean
lprejean@louisiana.edu

Ocean City, MD
DEN Guide: Chris Cuppett
CCUPPETT@wcboe.org

Commerce/Highland, MI
DEN Guide: Pam Shoemaker
PamelaShoemaker@wlcsd.org

Asheville, NC
DEN Guide: Conni Mulligan
Conni.Mulligan@bcsemail.org

Kinston, NC
DEN Guide: Lee Yahnker
dragonflyly@netscape.net

Portland, OR
DEN Guide: Jennifer Gingerich
jennifer@gingerichfamily.com 

Connellsville, PA
DEN Guide: Linda Michael
sandymae13@verizon.net

Honesdale, PA
DEN Guide: Lori Sheldon
sheldon.lori@waynehighlands.org

Lancaster, PA
DEN Guide: Sue Allen
susan_allen@hempfieldsd.org

Pittsburgh, PA
DEN Guide: Bridget Belardi
bridgetbelardi@gmail.com

Columbia, SC
DEN Guide: Donna Teuber
dteuber@sc.rr.com

Angleton-Brazosport-West Columbia, TX
DEN Guide: Shirley Phillips
sphillips@angletonisd.net

Pearland-Alvin-Friendswood-Manvel, TX
DEN Guide: Mark Dunk
dunkm@pearlandisd.org

LaConner, WA
DEN Guide: Martha Thornburgh
mthornburgh@mv.k12.wa.us

No matter if you are going with a group or venturing out on your own, add your name to the list of DEN Geocachers.  You might see someone in your area with whom you can connect.  And if you do form a group, let me know (lance_rougeux@discovery.com).

Click here to add your name to the list of DEN Geocachers!


View the full spreadsheet

Comments

  1. Lance Rougeux

    @Teryl: You have family outside of the DEN? Seriously, I think it would be fantastic to have family members involved in the day. Give them a first-hand view of why our STARs spend so much time with the DEN :)

  2. Teryl Magee, TN DEN LC

    @Lance…ROFL! Well, I guess ya’ll have never actually seen them, so I could be lying, but yes I have a life and family outside of the DEN although you guys run a close 2nd. =)

  3. Lee Kolbert

    What is this “life outside of DEN” you speak of? Tell me more…

  4. Debbie Bohanan

    Life outside the DEN? Interesting concept.

    I love the idea of bringing the family along. I am going to start a GeoCaching group for Kissimmee/Orlando! Count me in!!!!!

    It will be a morning event because I am treating my mom to a Mother’s Day retreat and taking her to EPCOT for the Flower and Garden Festival and the Tony Orlando Concert. :)

  5. Debbie Bohanan

    BTW, I posted twice on the spreadsheet because my twitter id is boanand not Debbie Bohanan. :)

Leave a Comment

For your photo to appear next to your name, be sure you have a Gravatar.com account created matching your email address.