It's a Wrap! Student Access to DE Streaming

Smellslike Magic explains student access to DE StreamingOn Wednesday evening, Sept. 30, we had an in-depth look at the how-to’s of making Discovery Streaming accessible to our students. Smellslike Magic (rl Mike Bryant) went through the steps of setting up classes and adding students to those classes, whether you do a mass upload as an admin or add students individually. He also showed how this student access would be of great benefit for differentiated learning.

In addition, he gave a heads up regarding some upcoming changes when a student logs on, due to compliance with COPPA (Childrens’ Online Privacy Protection Act) and FERPA (Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act) There will be a one-time different log in scenario for over 13 and under 13 years of age. More info will be sent out in the next few weeks regarding this procedure.

Those in attendance at 2DP also heard about the new DEN Guru program. Check out the blog for application requirements.

Thanks for the info, Mike!

Join us next week, October 7, when Shamblesguru Voom, aka Chris Smith in RL, leads us on a journey through SL Networking, Data Mining, Survival Skills…and Other Ramblings (Subtitle: Personal Learning Networks and Second Life) at 5 p.m. SLT (7 p.m. Central, 8 p.m. Eastern)

See you in world!

Leave a Comment

For your photo to appear next to your name, be sure you have a Gravatar.com account created matching your email address.