STEMulating Tundra Connections LIVE this Week!

It’s that time of year again.  Welcome to Polar Bear Week!

Join us live from the tundra this week as we help bring to STEM to life in your classrooms through a series of live webcasts featuring scientists and researchers with very interesting STEM careers and starring polar bears who are chilling right outside our tundra buggy.

Register here to receive reminders and updates.

Tues, Nov 5 @ 2:00 PM ET (1:00 PM CT)

All About Bears

With polar bears right outside our tundra buggy, we’ll talk to the scientists about the special adaptations that help polar bears survive.  Our scientists also study other bears so we’ll pick their brains about the similarities and differences between polar bears and two other North American bears – black bears and grizzly bears.

When you search in Discovery Education for “bears” you’ll get over a thousand results.  I like this black bear video and this segment about grizzly bears from the North America series. For polar bears, I recommend this Content Collection.

Here are a few resources to help your students compare and contrast different types of bears.

Wed, Nov 6 @ 12:00 PM ET (11:00 AM CT)

Polar Bear Senses

As we watch the polar bears outside our buggy, we’ll learn how they rely on their amazing senses to survive the arctic chill.  You’ll have plenty of time to ask questions and learn directly from polar bear scientists.

Here are some project ideas for your students:

Wed, Nov 6 @ 1:00 PM ET (12:00 PM CT)

Maternal Dens

What do you think a polar bear den looks like? Why do you think dens are important to polar bear cubs?  How do we learn about polar bear dens?

Members of the Polar Bears International team have spent the past several years studying maternal dens of polar bears.  To do this, they have employed some pretty high-tech, sophisticated processes to collect their data.  This project embodies everything we talk about when we say STEM.

Join us to hear directly from these STEM experts and have your questions answered.

 

 We look forward to seeing you and your students this week.  

View the webcasts here at http://www.polarbearsinternational.org/myplanetmypart

Leave a Comment

For your photo to appear next to your name, be sure you have a Gravatar.com account created matching your email address.