Wisconsin Represents at the IL/WI/MI Leadership Council Retreat

On January 15 – 17, members of the Wisconsin DEN Leadership Team participated in the Illinois/Wisconsin/Michigan Leadership Council Retreat which was held downtown Chicago, IL.  The weekend started Friday night with a team dinner with representatives from the three states.  The task at hand…to continue planning innovative and creative, professional staff development events for members in our states.  The networking and ideas were plentiful.

On Saturday we headed to the Discovery headquarters on Michigan Avenue and got a tour of the offices while enjoying the beautiful view of the city.  The majority of the day was spent networking and learning more about new things that the National DEN has in store to roll out, talking and collaborating about ideas shared the evening before, and breakout sessions by each state to plan out some specific events and details for each state.  All of the states have some exciting things in store for the remainder of this year as well as next fall.  Watch the WI DEN blog for upcoming details for Wisconsin members.  Although the day was full of event planning, the evening left some time for some bowling and fun.

Sunday morning, we regrouped for a team breakfast and final planning of event details.  After a morning of planning we headed out on on Michigan Ave. for a group photo and then said our goodbyes.

It was such a fun weekend and it was so much fun not only to connect with people from Wisconsin, but with Illinois and Michigan, it was even more special.  A special thanks to our regional representative Mike Bryant for such an awesome weekend.  We learned so much, had a lot of fun and are all looking forward to the upcoming events we have planned.
Picture includes members of the WI DEN Leadership Council.  From L to R: Rita Mortenson (Verona Area School District), Malena Koplin (Pewaukee School District), Chad Lehman (West Allis-West Milwaukee School District), Cathy Houchin (Watertown Unified School District),Deb Donley (Verona Area School District), Rachel Yurk (School District of New Berlin), and  Wendy Liska (School District of Waukesha).

Tags ,

Related posts

One Comment;

Comments are closed.