Language Arts and the Common Core

English Language Arts Common Core State Standards (CCSS):  What Are Your Students Reading?

The English Language Arts CCSS are not only aligned to college and career expectations, they are specifically spiraled in what’s called a staircase of increasing complexity.  This staircase helps us to identify what levels of text students must be able to read in order to be ready for the demands of college- and career-level reading no later than the end of high school.  In case you were wondering what this staircase looks like… think about all your students ready to read these books independently:

  • Charlotte’s Web in second or third grade,
  • The Black Stallion in fourth or fifth grade,
  • Little Women in sixth, seventh or eighth grade,
  • Grapes of Wrath in ninth or tenth grade, and;
  • Jane Eyre by eleventh or twelfth grade.  (For all of you page counters, Jane Eyre is about 800 pages long!)

Now, don’t misunderstand… this is not a booklist.  It’s just an example of the staircase of text complexity for all students.  Yes, all students.  The question is:  how do we get all of our students up the staircase?  Find out by attending one (or more) of Discovery Education’s Common Core Academies – two days of immersive professional learning opportunities that will provide you with a path to successful Common Core implementation.

For personalized and actionable CCSS professional development, attend one or more of the Discovery Education Common Core Academies in January 2013. Click here to learn more about each of our four Academies and sign up now for a special introductory price.

Questions about the Common Core or our Discovery Education Common Core Academies, ask Dr. Karen Beerer.

Email at or call her at 240-893-5162.