Congratulations Discovery Principals!

Principal SpotlightIn honor of National Principal Month (October), Discovery Education invited teachers and students to nominate great principals and help us shine the light on them. Nominations flooded in, and we’re excited to share the results with you.
We are recognizing all these winning principals in our 2014 Great Principals list, below. Their award titles — created by the nominating teacher or student — are also included. On Mondays, over the coming months, we’ll be posting the comments shared in their nominations.
We hope you’ll enjoy the opportunity to read some of the moving comments and descriptions of the great things happening in education today. And, if you’d like, congratulate these stellar lead learners in our comments section.
Alamogordo Public Schools, Chaparral Middle School
Robbie Coker for  Taking a New Approach, From fellow Teacher to Principal
Albuquerque Public Schools, Sierra Vista
Monica Garcisalas for Great Supporter of Tech Innovation
Archdiocese of Washington Catholic Schools, Saint Peter’s School
Elizabeth  Whelan for Forward Thinker
Austin Independent School District, Baranoff Elementary School
Linda Purvis for IT Supporter
Austin Independent School District, Austin High School
Sandy Compian for Vision for the Future
Baldwin County, Foley Elementary
Dr. William Lawrence for Most Dedicated Principal
Baldwin County, Magnolia School
Debra Phillips for New Principal Award
Baldwin County, Foley High School
Shane Tucker for Grabbing the Bull by the Horns
Beaconhouse School System, Pakistan, Karachi
Ayesha Aamer for Inspiration
Beaconhouse School System, Pakistan, Karachi
Iram Ali for Inspirational Motivator
Beaconhouse School System, Pakistan, Karachi
Hina Arshi for Leadership
Bedford Public Schools, Monroe Road Elementary School
Alex Chapman for Super Hero Principal
Brockton, Davis K-8
Darlene Campbell for Renegade
Carroll County Public Schools, Francis Scott Key High School
John Baugher for Encouragement of Innovation with Discovery Education
Castleberry ISD, REACH High School
Wanda Mitchell for Queen of Kindness
CCSD DesPlaines, IL., Central Elementary
Kelly Krueger for Being Connected Makes A Difference
Collier County Public Schools, Lake Park Elementary
Christopher Marker for Community, Environment and Science – The Collaborator!
Collier County Public Schools, Lely High School
Leslie Ricciardelli for DEN Movie Star Principal
Collier County Public Schools, Village Oaks Elementary School
Angie Torres for PAWsome Support of “DE GURUS” at VOE
DeKalb County School District, Hawthorne Elementary
Lisa Limoncelli for Shining Star
Denton ISD, Newton Rayzor Elementary
Happy Carrico for Leading with Excellence
Denton ISD, Adkins Elementary
Emily McLarty for From the Heart
Diocese of Joliet, All Saints Catholic Academy
Sandy Renehan for Tech Bunny to Tech Guru
Dorchester School District Two, Windsor Hill Arts Infused Elementary
Vernisa Bodison for Student Achievement
Escambia, Jim C. Bailey Middle School
Judy Pippen for Leading by Example
Forsyth County, Lakeside Middle School
Debbie Sarver for Leading a Family of Great Educators
Greenville School District, East Elementary
Brian Bronson for Leading Others to Greatness
Guilford County, Ben L. Smith High School
Donevin Hoskins for Excellence in Leadership
Guilford County, Vandalia Elementary
Kimberly Robertson for Inspiring Leadership and Facilitating Growth
Holy Trinity Catholic School Division, All Saints Catholic School
Lenni Zanidean for Leadership
Holy Trinity Catholic School Division, St. Michael School
Rita Giroux for The Mentorship Award
Jenison Public Schools, Bauerwood Elementary
Crystal Morse for Servant Leader
Jenison Public Schools, Pinewood Elementary
Rachael Brown for Inspiring Us to Innovate Wildly and Pinewood’s PIRATE Leader
Joint School District No. 2, Galileo STEM Academy
Suanne McCullough for Administration is Key
Keystone Central School District, Dickey Elementary
Steve Kreger for Our Elementary Transformer
Lampasas ISD, Lampasas High School
Mark Kehoe for Shepherd of the Flock
Liberty Public Schools, Liberty High School
Dr. April Adams for 21st Centurion Award
Lillian Beauchamp, Manatee K-8
Lillian Beauchamp for Fearless Leader
Marietta City Schools, Marietta Center for Advanced Academics
Jennifer Hernandez for Digital Trailblazer
Martin, The Pine School
Gary Peirce for Yellow Brick Road
Midland Public Schools, Midland High School
Donna Clark for The Visionary Leader
Mobile County, Craighead Elementary
Tracey Hunter for Outstanding Administrator of the Year
Moreland School District, Country Lane
Stacey Ruddy for Amazing Motivator
Nash Rocky Mount, Southern Nash Middle
Doug Davis for Energetic Award
Northern Lights SD #69, Cold Lake High School
Dustin Walker for Quiet Changer
Orange Unified School District, Panorama
Kathy Martin for Shining Superstar
Orange Unified School District, Anaheim Hills Elementary
Sandra Miller for Lifelong Learner and Innovator Leader
Orange Unified School District, West Orange Elementary School
Jennifer Bourgeois for Sharing and Encouraging
Ottawa Catholic School Board, St. Phillip
Brian Kelly for Mentorship Award
Ottawa Catholic School Board, St. Anthony Catholic School
Paul McGuire for Synergizer Award
Pine Plains Central, Seymour Smith
Julie Roberts for Phoenix Award
Revere, MA, Susan B. Anthony Middle School
Joanne Willett for Great Boss
Richland County School District One, Brennen Elementary School
Mark Shea for Whatever It Takes
Richland County School District One, John P. Thomas Elementary School
Selina Latimore for The Mover and Shaker Award
Richland School District Two, Blythewood Middle School
Karis Mazyck for Growing Teacher Leaders
Richland School District Two, Dent Middle School
David Basile for Techie Wanna Be
Richland School District Two, Richland Northeast High School
Sabrina Suber for She’s a STAR and she ROCKS!
Richland School District Two, Longleaf Middle School
Angela Thom for Pom Pom Award
Rockwall, Rockwall HS
Courtney Gober for The Leader for Us
Round Rock ISD, Grisham Middle School
Kim Winters for Cheerleader For All
Rutland City Public Schools, Rutland High School
Bill Olsen for Innovation Champion
St. James-Assiniboia School Division, Brooklands School
Rex Ferguson-Baird for Connecting with Community
St.Paul Education Regional Division #1, St.Paul Elementary School
Karol Cabaj-Martin for A+ Astounding Administrator
Vernon Independent School District, Vernon Middle School
Michael Campos for Hard Working Principal/ Positive Environment
Verona Area School District, Verona Area High School
Pam Hammen for Passion to Help All Students Succeed
Virginia Beach City Public Schools, Kemps Landing – Old Donation School
Dr. Kelly A. Hedrick for Champion of the Gifted Student Award
Wake County Public Schools, Apex Elementary School
Laurel Crissman for Leadership by Example and Trust
Wake County Public Schools, Brier Creek Elementary School
Sandy Chambers for There’s No Chill in Dr. Chambers!
Wake County Public Schools, Cary Elementary
Rod Stanton for Rockin’ Rod
Wake County Public Schools, Martin Gifted and Talented Magnet Middle
Dr. Diann Kearney for The Mightiest Mustang
Wake County Public Schools, Middle Creek High School
Wade Martin for Trusting for Success
Wake County Public Schools, Mills Park Middle School
Bob Smith for Strive for Excellence Award
WestAda School District, Barbara Morgan STEM Academy
Ryan Wilhite for Leading the W.I.S.E. Way
Is there a principal you’d like to nominate for recognition? Complete this form and we’ll feature him or her in our DEN Principal Spotlight series.

Related posts